November 3, 2009

The End of Poverty?

Posted in Poverty tagged , at 1:04 AM by minoritybrief

 

A new film opening in a few weeks in select cities tries to answer the huge question about how we can have so much wealth and so much poverty in this world at the same time. The pictures are startling, disturbing, and painful to see. They are also overwhelming. It’s easy, and easier, to feel insignificant and incapable in the face of such daunting circumstances. As people struggle to take care of their own, the thought of doing for others may seem too much to ask. But as I look at my own children I know that but for the grace of God, there go I. My life and the opportunities I have are part blessing and part luck. Either way, it is not acceptable for me to coast on that and do nothing. Once you’ve been exposed to information, doing nothing out of ignorance ceases to be an option. Instead, when you do nothing, it’s out of choice, a conscious and deliberate decision. I have no idea what the answers are, and I have some trepidation about what kind of sacrifices I would be willing to make. But I know it’s too late to do nothing any longer.

Leave a Reply

